SENATE BILL No. 201

February 20, 2003, Introduced by Senator BISHOP and referred to the Committee on Judiciary.

A bill to amend 1961 PA 236, entitled "Revised judicature act of 1961," by amending section 8123 (MCL 600.8123), as amended by 2000 PA 448.

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF MICHIGAN ENACT:

Sec. 8123. (1) The forty-third district consists of the
 cities of Madison Heights, Ferndale, and Hazel Park, is a
 district of the third class, and has 3 judges.

4 (2) The forty-fourth district consists of the city of Royal5 Oak, is a district of the third class, and has 2 judges.

6 (3) The forty-fifth-a district consists of the city of7 Berkley, is a district of the third class, and has 1 judge.

8 (4) The forty-fifth-b district consists of the cities of
9 Huntington Woods, Oak Park, and Pleasant Ridge and the township
10 of Royal Oak in the county of Oakland, is a district of the third

SENATE BILL No. 201

1 class, and has 2 judges.

2 (5) The forty-sixth district consists of the cities of
3 Southfield and Lathrup Village and the township of Southfield in
4 the county of Oakland, is a district of the third class, and has
5 3 judges.

6 (6) The forty-seventh district consists of the cities of
7 Farmington and Farmington Hills, is a district of the third
8 class, and has 2 judges. Subject to section 8175, this district
9 may have 1 additional judge subject to review and recommendation
10 by the state court administrator to the legislature and
11 subsequent legislation, if and when a district court judgeship is
12 eliminated within the state of Michigan.

13 (7) The forty-eighth district consists of the cities of
14 Birmingham, Bloomfield Hills, Sylvan Lake, Keego Harbor, and
15 Orchard Lake Village and the townships of Bloomfield and West
16 Bloomfield in the county of Oakland, is a district of the third
17 class, and has 3 judges.

18 (8) The fiftieth district consists of the city of Pontiac, is
19 a district of the third class, and has the following number of
20 judges:

21 (a) Until subdivision (b) takes effect, this district has 4
22 judges.

(b) This district has 3 judges beginning on the earliest ofthe following dates:

(i) The date on which a vacancy occurs in the office of
district judge in this district as a result of death,
resignation, retirement, removal from office, or removal of

DRM

2

1 domicile beyond the limits of the district.

2 (*ii*) Upon the expiration of the term of an incumbent judge in 3 this district who is not eligible to seek reelection to that 4 office.

3

5 (*iii*) Upon the expiration of the term of an incumbent judge 6 in this district who is eligible to seek reelection but who does 7 not file by affidavit to seek reelection to that office or who 8 withdraws within 3 days after filing by affidavit to seek 9 reelection to that office.

10 (9) The fifty-first district consists of the township of 11 Waterford in the county of Oakland, is a district of the third 12 class, and has 2 judges.

(10) The fifty-second district consists of the county of
Oakland except the cities of Madison Heights, Ferndale, Hazel
Park, Royal Oak, Berkley, Huntington Woods, Oak Park, Pleasant
Ridge, Southfield, Lathrup Village, Farmington, Farmington Hills,
Northville, Sylvan Lake, Keego Harbor, Orchard Lake Village,
Birmingham, Bloomfield Hills, and Pontiac and the townships of
Royal Oak, Southfield, West Bloomfield, Bloomfield, and
Waterford, is a district of the second class, and is divided into
the following election divisions:

(a) The first division consists of the cities of Novi, South
Lyon, Wixom, and Walled Lake and the townships of Milford,
Highland, Commerce, Lyon, and Novi. Until January 1, 2003, the
first division also includes the townships of Rose and White
Lake. The first division has 3 judges. Subject to section 8175,
this division may have 1 additional judge effective January 1,

DRM

2003. If the Oakland county board of commissioners approves that
 additional judgeship, the judgeship in the first division that is
 filled by the district judge of the first division whose term
 expires January 1, 2005 is transferred to the second division,
 effective January 1, 2003.

(b) The second division consists of the city of the village 6 of Clarkston and the townships of Springfield, Independence, 7 Holly, Groveland, and Brandon. Beginning January 1, 2003, the 8 second division also includes the townships of Rose and White 9 The second division has 1 judge; however, effective 10 Lake. January 1, 2003, this division shall have 2 judges if a judgeship 11 12 is transferred to this division from the first division pursuant 13 to subdivision (a).

(c) The third division consists of the cities of Rochester, Auburn Hills, Rochester Hills, and Lake Angelus and the townships of Oxford, Addison, Orion, and Oakland and has 3 judges. Subject to section 8175, this district may have 1 additional judge effective on January 1 of the first odd numbered year that begins at least 9 months after the date on which the number of judges in the fiftieth judicial district is reduced from 4 to 3 as provided in subsection (8).

22 (d) The fourth division consists of the cities of Troy and23 Clawson and has 3 judges.

Final Page

DRM

4